Poundshop film in black and white

I have been getting my colour film processed at my local Asda for years now. A while back I was told that the lab would either shut or be sold on at some point. Well the deed is done. So I will have to start c-41 processing at home as I can’t find anywhere that can dev only my film for cheap. I thought I would process my most recent roll of Agfa Vista in Ilford Ilfosol 3 using the HP5 dev time (I read it on the internet, it must be true). The roll came out of my Minolta AF-C which may be underexposing anyway, and the weather for most of the film was appalling. I didn’t expect good results and was not disappointed. The negs were a pain to scan, the final images are rather drab. I may have to consider dumping Poundshop film for the time being.

5 thoughts on “Poundshop film in black and white

    1. Thanks! I know my scanning/editing skills are a pretty poor despite practising, I am struggling to get results I’m happy with. Still I’m happy to keep trying 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. These are great. I use the Arista C-41 kit. I like it. Only niggle is you have to get the developer up to 102 degrees. I just leave the bottle in hot water with a thermometer in it and once it hits 102 I start. I put the Blix in the water too, and at that point I pull the blix bottle and let it sit since temp for it is between 95-105 (fahrenheit). 3.5m develop, 6.5 blix, 4 minutes wash, stabilizer at room temp for 1 minute. Done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I tried the ready mixed pouches of Digibase C-41 last year, which worked quite well. Being able to process at 20 degrees was really helpful. I may get another kit this year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

