Cheap camera fun

We have a recycling centre close to where we live. It is a bit like a huge junk shop, you can find loads of interesting stuff, mostly very cheap. We were looking for a workshop bench or materials to build one, when I found a few boxes under a table full of old cameras. I had a sort through and picked out few. A Chinon Genesis, a Nikon L35af in excellent working condition, a new boxed Lomography Super Sampler and a PN 919. They cost £2 each which I thought was a total bargain even though the Genesis turned out to be dead when I got home.

I thought I should try them all starting with the PN 919. I didn’t know anything about this camera when I bought it, I was simply struck by the fact that it has a 28mm lens. Apparently this camera was given away or sold by Readers Digest magazine as a crash camera to keep in your car’s glovebox in case of accidents to record any damage. It is made of lightweight plastic and feels a bit flimsy and creaky. No flash, fixed focus, fixed aperture and one shutter speed, the simplest point and shoot around.

After shooting a roll of Agfa Vista 200 from Poundland, I have to say how much I like the results. Acceptable sharpness, no vignetting and accurate colour. Ladies and gentlemen, we have a winner!

Here are a few pictures from that first roll, taken in and around Norfolk last week.

2 thoughts on “Cheap camera fun

    1. My philosophy is grab it if it is cheap. If it doesn’t work, I’ll get some fun out of dismantling it to see how it works 😄.

      Like

Leave a Reply

